Steering Committee announced by Federal Govt

Steering Committee Chair, Glenn Sterle.

Membership of a steering committee has been finalised as the $140 million heavy vehicle rest area initiative takes shape.

Announced this week, the steering committee will help shape the projects that are funded through the initiative to deliver new or improved facilities for truck drivers.

It will be chaired by Senator Glenn Sterle.

Sterle will be joined on the steering committee by Michelle Harwood, Executive Director of the Tasmanian Transport Association, representing the Australian Transport Association.

Harwood has extensive experience in formulating and delivering the Tasmanian Heavy Vehicle Driver Rest Area Strategy.

Other representatives include Rod Hannifey, long term truck driver and road safety advocate, President of the National Road Freighters Association; John Beer, veteran long distance truck driver and former President of the Australian Livestock and Rural Transporters Association; and Paul Ryan, Board Member of Healthy Heads in Trucks and Sheds.

The organisational representatives will be joined by drivers Kellie Boland, Bruce Skelton, Frank Arcidiaco, Heather Jones, Craig Forsyth all of whom were selected through an expression of interest process.

In a statement, Assistant Minister for Infrastructure and Transport, Senator Carol Brown said the Heavy Vehicle Rest Area Initiative Steering Committee is the first step in delivering the $140 million Rest Area Initiative.

“Drivers like Rod Hannifey, who has driven more than six million kilometres, or the circumference of Australia more than forty thousand times, will offer invaluable insights,” she said.

“Along with Chair and former truck driver, Senator Glenn Sterle, I look forward to working with the steering committee to deliver new and improved heavy vehicle rest areas across the country.”

Senator Glenn Sterle said announcing the steering committee would go a long way to delivering meaningful outcomes for truck drivers.

“Key to that success is utilising the experience, insight and knowledge of the truck drivers and road safety advocates on the committee and I can’t wait to get to work,” he said.

“I’d like to thank every driver who took time out of their busy schedule to complete an expression of interest to be a part of this process and offer my congratulations to those who have been selected.”

Send this to a friend