Seven contenders for CVIAQ’s Apprentice of the Year award

The 2013 CVIAQ Apprentice of the Year and Industry Recognition awards will be presented tomorrow at a dinner held at CVIAQ function in Brisbane. Seven highly skilled apprentices have been announced as finalists.

Matthew Hayes from Brisbane Isuzu Archerfield, Harry Bryant of Brisbane Isuzu Eagle Farm, Justin McCormack of Peak Engineering Transport Services, Byron Aylott of MTU Detroit Diesel Australia/TORGAS, Chris Huet from Scania Australia, Michael Reiner of the Brown & Hurley Group and Sam Savva from Volvo Commercial Vehicles Brisbane were interviewed by the judging panel in early September following nomination by their employers.

Nominated apprentices will be eligible for the Apprentice of the Year Award, High Achievement Award and Certificate of Merit to be presented by CVIAQ President Bob Martin along with representatives from sponsors Warby Tools and National Transport Insurance.

CVIAQ CEO, Brett Wright, said while the awards are a prestigious event it was decided to stay with the format introduced last year at the XXX Ale House as it attracts a wider range of age groups.

“This is a less formal event and we welcome all members, from senior managers to apprentices, to come and support their colleagues who have been nominated for the awards,” said Wright.

Leave a Reply

Send this to a friend