NHVR appoints board members

The National Heavy Vehicle Regulator (NHVR) has appointed Patrick Conlon to its board.

The former South Australian Minister for Transport brings a wealth of experience with his appointment.

Conlon represented the Electoral district of Elder in the South Australian House of Assembly as a member of the Labor Party from 1997 to 2014. He was Minister for Transport, Minister for Infrastructure, and Minister for Energy, as well as the Leader of Government Business in the Lower House.

Deputy Chairperson Julie Russell and fellow board member Catherine Scott have been re-appointed for a second term.

The NHVR is governed by a skills-based board, which plays a key role under the Heavy Vehicle National Law (HVNL) to ensure the NHVR functions in an effective and efficient way and is accountable to responsible ministers.

Responsible ministers from Queensland, the Australian Capital Territory, New South Wales, South Australia, Tasmania, Victoria, and the Australian Government have voting authority at the Infrastructure and Transport Minister’s Meeting to make board member recommendations.

Ministers have unanimously agreed on Conlon’s appointment, which fills the vacant position created after the resignation of Ken Lay in June.

Under the HVNL, the Queensland Minister (as host jurisdiction) is responsible for appointing NHVR board members upon the unanimous recommendation of responsible ministers, including appointment of the chairperson and deputy chairperson.

A staggered approach to board appointments began in October 2018 to ensure continuity of knowledge and a smooth transition for new membership.

Duncan Gay will continue on as NHVR Board Chairperson until October 2024, as will board member Robin Stewart-Crompton.

Board members are appointed for a period of three years.

Federal Minister for Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Local Government Catherine King said Conlon had a distinguished career in the South Australian Government, having held a number of ministerial portfolios.

“During his ten years as transport minister he was a strong advocate for national consistency in heavy vehicle regulation and worked together with then Federal Transport Minister Anthony Albanese to advance that agenda,” she said.

“Mr Conlon also has extensive experience in board advisory roles and has recently provided strategic advice to a range of clients in the transport, energy, infrastructure and property industries,” said King.

“I congratulate Mr Conlon, as well as Ms Russell and Ms Scott for their re-appointments, and look forward to working with them and the NHVR as we continue to drive a safe, efficient and productive heavy vehicle industry. I also thank Mr Lay for his service.”

Queensland Minister for Transport and Main Roads Mark Bailey described Julie Russell and Catherine Scott as both highly respected within the heavy vehicle industry.

”It is pleasing the National Heavy Vehicle Board will continue to benefit from their wealth of experience,” he said.

”Ms Russell’s commitment to the heavy vehicle transport industry is evident through her roles as a current board member and past presidency of the Queensland Trucking Association, and as board member and chair of the Skills and Workforce Committee of the Australian Trucking Association,” said Bailey.

”She has worked both within her family business and in large multinational corporations across roles in risk and compliance, human resources, industrial relations, technology and strategic planning.

Scott has held directorships across a portfolio of organisations in transport, water, education and natural resources. Her strong commitment to road safety, according to Bailey, was further confirmed by her appointment in 2020 as a commissioner of the Australian Transport Safety Bureau.

”In her earlier professional career, she held senior executive positions in the investment banking and finance industries, including five years at Australian Airlines as Treasurer Capital Markets, prior to its merger with Qantas Airways,” said Bailey.

“I would like to take this opportunity to thank the board for their ongoing service to the Heavy Vehicle industry, and I look forward to working collaboratively in the future.”

Send this to a friend