Hall of Fame inductees named, McIver honoured in Alice Springs

Nick Lubransky.

The latest round of transport legends have been cemented at the Shell Rimula National Road Transport Wall of Fame in Alice Springs.

More than 300 people gathered last weekend for the Festival of Transport held on 26-28 August.

Some 55 new inductees were honoured at the annual event which also included an inaugural Transport Women Association Limited (TWAL) presentation that highlighted the contributions of women in the industry over the years.

Western Australian Senator Glenn Sterle, Northern Territory Treasurer Eva Lawler and Northern Territory Senator Jacinta Nampijinpa Price were among the VIPs in attendance.

Former fleet operator Bruce McIver was recognised as an icon in the industry.

The long-serving director of McIver Livestock Transport and previous President of the Australian Trucking Association, a group he had helped establish in its previous incarnation the Road Transport Industry Forum, McIver is known for both his leading role in industry organisations as well as for his achievements in the trucking industry.

He started out as a driver in 1969 working for his father and uncle.

Active in transporting construction materials and equipment for the reconstruction of Darwin following Cyclone Tracy in 1974, McIver at one stage was moving 94 double-deck crates on roadtrains and B-doubles.

As a long haul innovator, McIver also pioneered dozens of roadtrain spec’d oil tankers and a customised B-triple using eight built-for-purpose tippers on an innovative axle combination.

Inducted to the Wall of Fame in 2003, McIver is considered the father of Queensland’s merged Liberal National Party where he acted as president for seven years before he accepted a role as non-executive board member of Australia Post.

Nick Lubransky, Bruce McIver, Frank Bilato, Jim Hurley.

With last year’s festivities being disrupted by COVID regulations, this year’s event returned successfully to in-person presentations.

Nick Lubransky, Transport Marketing Manager, Viva Energy Australia, the Shell brand licensee in Australia, was pleased to be involved in the event.

“Since the year 2000 the Shell Rimula brand has been involved in recognising the efforts of people from the transport industry at the National Road Transport Hall of Fame, and we are proud to be involved again this year,” he said.

“It means so much to people to be inducted and recognised, with many people having their family and friends along for the ceremony,” Lubransky said.

“The people getting inducted come from different backgrounds in transport, with drivers, operations, managers, and business owners all part of the induction.

“We are also seeing an increasing number of women being inducted, which is a fantastic recognition as well. Our team are really excited to be a part of the event and get a chance to spend the weekend with people who have dedicated their lives to the road transport industry.”

The Dream Maker award, presented by the TWAL and announced during a red-themed gala dinner on Saturday evening, included 25 recipients.

Honourees came from all parts of Australia.

“Not all recipients were in attendance but those who were there to accept their award in person were often surprised, always humbled and some brought to tears,” said Jacquelene Brotherton, TWAL Chair.

“With the theme of the night being red, there was a sea of red within the Kenworth pavilion and it was a spectacular sight, with so many beautiful people and gorgeous trucks,” she told Prime Mover.

The TWAL Dream Maker award recognises the women who work behind the scenes and help those who front an organisation to achieve desired outcomes, whether it be an owner-operator, family enterprise or large firm.

Send this to a friend