Blue Datto Foundation among winners of Australian Road Safety Awards

While not able to be held in conjunction with the traditional gala event due to the current global health situation, the ninth annual Australian Road Safety Awards celebrated some major safety initiatives through a diverse range of contenders.

Deniliquin High School’s creatively named Blue Datto Foundation with its Keeping Safe program took out the Community Programs Award.

Blue Datto Foundation – founded in 2015 following a tragic passenger car incident involving two P plate drivers – is a not-for-profit organisation dedicated to reducing the incidence and impact of road trauma in New South Wales.

The Keeping Safe education program aims to equip young drivers with the knowledge, skills and confidence to improve road safety.

Deniliquin High School also won the Schools Programs Award with its Driver Education Program.

The Indigenous Road Safety Award went to the Department of Infrastructure, Planning & Logistics with its program: Strong Road Safety NT Leaders.

AFL Northern Territory (AFLNT), a provider of this program, said it focuses on the importance of wearing a seatbelt, family and teaches young Aboriginal students about being a leader in their community.

“The students who attend the MLLLC are between 10-17 years old and are from some of the most remote and isolated communities in the Northern Territory,” AFLNT said in a statement. “Since its inception, 1,200 students have been through the program and have learnt about the importance of road safety.”

The Innovation Award was won by the Royal Brisbane & Women’s Hospital – Trauma Service with its P.A.R.T.Y. Program.

The P.A.R.T.Y. (Prevent Alcohol and Risk-Related Trauma in Youth) Program is a one-day injury awareness and prevention program for youth age 15 and older. Developed in 1986 at Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre, this program is reported to be a vital component of the growing community effort to reduce death and injury in alcohol, drug and risk-related crashes and incidents.

The Local Government Initiatives Award was awarded to Queanbeyan Palerang Regional Council for its Safe Systems Speed Project for Local Roads.

The Corporate Fleet Safety Award that was won by the Australian Trucking Association with its TruckSafe program.

The State Government Initiatives Award went to the South Australia Police with its SA Police Road Safety Centre School Holiday Program.

The Technology Award was taken out by GOFAR with its SIRA Young Driver Telematic Trial.

And finally, the Founders Award for Outstanding Achievement went to the Australian Trucking Association with TruckSafe.

Commenting on the event, Driver Safety Australia Managing Director, Russell White, said that in spite of the extraordinary circumstances, the Awards presentation highlighted the effort and dedication put in by all the participants. 

“Although we were unable to come together to celebrate this important event, we wanted to acknowledge the outstanding work of a diverse range of people dedicated to reducing road trauma,” said White.

“The Australian Road Safety Foundation would like to commend the calibre of all program entrants and congratulate everyone involved for your commitment to road safety in Australia,” he said.

Leave a Reply

  1. Australian Truck Radio Listen Live
Send this to a friend