Australia’s best drivers to meet at Trucking Australia 2014

As part of Trucking Australia 2014, a rare reunion of the previous Australian Professional Truck Driver of the Year award winners is planned.

The Award is celebrating its 21st year and half of the recipients will make it to Hamilton Island in June to celebrate the occasion, according to the Australian Trucking Association (ATA).

The Professional Truck Driver of the Year award winners reunion was thought of in 2006 by 2005 Award winner Des Bailey of Herb Blanchard Haulage. The idea was supported by ATA CEO, Stuart St Clair, and Owen Driscoll from NTI, who helped organise the first re-union back in 2008.

Des said at the time, the 15th driver award had been presented and 11 of the 15 drivers made it to the reunion at the ATA Convention held in Canberra that year. “It was great to meet all that came along and chat about what everyone had been doing since winning the prestigious award.”

Due to health and work reasons Des says 10 drivers couldn’t make it to this year’s re-union. “I’m looking forward to meeting a couple of drivers that I haven’t met as I’ve missed a couple of conferences since my award win,” said Des.

Previous award winners were:

1994 Glen Waterrus, QLD
1995 Barry Roll, VIC
1996 Max Keough, NSW (now driving in USA)
1997 Lawrence Harding, WA
1998 Murry Cooper, WA
1999 Errol Galvin, NSW
2000 Gregory Wells, QLD
2001 Rod Hannifey, NSW
2002 Vern Mildren, NSW
2003 Brian Wettern, NSW
2004 Mervyn Edwards, NSW
2005 Des Bailey, NSW
2006 Lloyd George, NSW
2007 Des Docherty, QLD
2008 Kevin Cartwright, WA
2009 Robert Machin, QLD
2010 Simon Wynne, QLD
2011 John Hastie, QLD
2012 William Watson, VIC
2013 Rob Schalkwyk, QLD

Image: Owen Driscoll and Des Bailey

Leave a Reply

Send this to a friend