ATANSW announces industry award winners

The Australian Trucking Association NSW (ATANSW) has honoured NSW trucking industry greats at the 2014 ATANSW industry awards, in Sydney, 2 May.

Phillip Crook, Lynne Jack and Barry Grimson were recognised for their contributions to the NSW trucking trade.

ATANSW Manager Jodie Broadbent said the awards were a wonderful opportunity to celebrate the efforts of those who have contributed significantly to the NSW trucking industry.

“To be acknowledged as the best in the industry is an honour. The winners of the ATANSW industry awards don’t just take home a trophy – they take home the respect of their peers,” said Broadbent.

Phillip Crook received the ‘Outstanding Contribution to the NSW Trucking Industry Award'. Crook is a long time contributor to the road transport industry and has maintained a twenty-year career with the Toll Group Australia.

Lynne Jack received the 'NSW Transport Woman of the Year Award'. Jack works at the Hunter TAFE providing heavy vehicle and plant apprentices with hands-on experience and access to mentors within the industry.

Barry Grimson, from Unanderra Tanker Hire, received the 'NSW Professional Driver of the Year Award'. Barry started driving for his father’s business in 1964. He is dedicated to improving conditions for his fellow drivers, and is unofficially known at his home depot as the ‘drivers’ advocate.’

“I’d like to extend my congratulations to Phillip, Lynne and Barry. We’re very fortunate to have such talented and dedicated people in the industry,” said Broadbent.

The winners will now be nominated for the National Trucking Industry Awards, which will be presented at Trucking Australia 2014 on Hamilton Island on Saturday 7 June 2014.

Leave a Reply

Send this to a friend