23rd Annual Australian Freight Industry Awards a success

More than 1100 guests attended the 23rd Annual Australian Freight Industry Awards held at the Palladium Ballroom, Crown Casino, last Saturday – celebrating best practice achievements in safety, technology innovation, business sustainability, and investment in people.

Hosted by the Victorian Transport Association (VTA) , this year’s awards show was a great success as the industry came out to support the night in record numbers, in addition to an overwhelming number of award nominations this year. VTA CEO, Neil Chambers, said, “We congratulate all those who were nominated. All entrants were of a high quality and the judging was difficult. The winners should all be very proud.” 

The entertainment had the guests packed onto the dance floor well into the night. Celebrated soul singer, Lisa Hunt, got the crowd involved and had guests join her on stage for various musical antics. The night went into full swing when Patrick McMahon hit the stage, certainly living up to his titl, ‘Superman of Entertainment’.

VTA Executive Director, Philip Lovel, co-hosted the show with celebrity comedian Trevor Marmalade and said, “The night was a spectacular show, a fantastic 23rd event – the awards are a testament to the quality of companies operating in the Freight and Logistics industry and recognise the hard work of all our people.”

The 2012 Awards saw renewed award categories and the addition of a new one – the Young Achiever of the Year Award – which received over 10 nominations. Philip Lovel said, “Many companies now understand that these awards are the best opportunity to publicly recognise and honour those companies and individuals who have gone above and beyond the call of duty to make their work more innovative, efficient and safe.” 

The Award presentations commenced with the launch of a new category called the ‘David Hay Education Endowment and Scholarship Program’, known as the David Hay Scholarship Awards. They were designed to support people in the industry who have not completed formal education and want to further their career. The Award went to Nicholas Bliesner, currently at Secon Freight Logistics.

The 2012 Australian Freight Industry Award Winners are:

1. Australian Transport & Logistics Investment in People Award: Power’s Country Express, Bendigo

2. Australian Transport & Logistics Best Practice Safety Award: Metropolitan Express Transport

3. Australian Transport & Logistics Technology Award: Containerchain

4. Australian Transport & Logistics Business Sustainability Award: FBT Transwest

5. Australian Transport & Logistics Young Achiever of the Year Award: Jason Connor, CC Containers & Rhiannon Buckland, BlueScope Steel (pictured, with Minister Terry Mulder and VTA President Paul Freestone)

6. Australian Transport & Logistics Personality of the Year: Mr Ivan Backman, AM

Leave a Reply

  1. Australian Truck Radio Listen Live
Send this to a friend